Ohlone Audubon Society

Serving Southern and Eastern Alameda County

Events Calendar

Download as iCal file
 
Birding by Ear for Beginners - Garin Regional Park
Saturday 25 March 2017, 09:00am - 11:00am
Hits : 176

Leaders: Bill Scoggins, bill.ScogginsATyahoo.com (510-581-5186) and Maggie Clark

Join us for an exploration into the audible world of the stream, woods, pond, and marsh of Garin Regional Park.  Bring your “inside voice” and practice listening with us for the song of harder-to-see birds like Common Yellowthroat, for the buzz of newly-arrived Allen’s and Rufous Hummingbirds, and for the distinctive melody of spring’s Bullock’s Orioles.  Review the calls of old friends like Marsh Wren, Song Sparrow, Coot and Mallard.  One familiar sound is the buzz of the mosquito - bring your insect repellent as well as sunblock.  Heavy rain cancels.  Pre-registration is not required, and all are welcome. From I-880, go east on Tennyson or Industrial Parkway to Mission Blvd. in Hayward.  Go south on Mission and turn left on Garin Ave. Go east up into the hills to reach the park.  $5 parking fee if kiosk is manned.  Meet at the red barn. 

Field Trips

Sat Mar 25 @ 9:00AM - 11:00AM
Birding by Ear for Beginners - Garin Regional Park
Sun Apr 02 @ 8:30AM - 12:00PM
Del Valle SRA - CANCELED
Wed Apr 12 @ 9:00AM - 12:00PM
Alameda South Shore
Sat Apr 15 @ 8:30AM - 11:30AM
North Livermore/Springtown
Sun Apr 23 @10:00AM - 02:30PM
Swallow Walk - Lake Elizabeth and Coyote Hills Regional Park
Sat Apr 29 @ 8:00AM - 11:00AM
Garin/Dry Creek Regional Parks
Wed May 03 @ 8:00AM - 11:00AM
Sunol Regional Wilderness
Sat May 06 @12:00AM
Birding Mercey Hot Springs with Bob Toleno and Juli Chamberlin
Sun May 07 @12:00AM
Birding Mercey Hot Springs with Bob Toleno and Juli Chamberlin
Tue May 09 @ 9:00AM - 11:30AM
Sibley Volcanic Regional Preserve

Copyright 2009-2016 Ohlone Audubon Society all rights reserved